clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Euro 2012 Live Thread: Day 1 - Poland v. Greece, Russia v. Czech Republic

New, comments
WARSAW, POLAND - JUNE 08:  Poland fans look on ahead of the UEFA EURO 2012 group A match between Poland and Greece at The National Stadium on June 8, 2012 in Warsaw, Poland.  (Photo by Alex Grimm/Getty Images)
WARSAW, POLAND - JUNE 08: Poland fans look on ahead of the UEFA EURO 2012 group A match between Poland and Greece at The National Stadium on June 8, 2012 in Warsaw, Poland. (Photo by Alex Grimm/Getty Images)
Getty Images

Game 1: Poland v. Greece
Location: National Stadium of Poland
Kick off: 1100 CST (1700 GMT)
Toon Targets: None known

Game 1 features two sides that not many people are expecting to make much noise in the tournament- but sometimes strange things happen in the European Championships... Greece were European Champions a handful of years ago.

Game 2: Russia v. Czech Republic

Location: Municipal Stadium of Wroclaw

Kickoff: 1345 CST (1945 GMT)

Toon Targets: None known

Game 2, by conventional wisdom, is the game that could have the greater influence on the tournament as a whole. Russia and the Czech Republic both have enough talent on paper to make noise, but fulfilling promise has seemed to be a problem for both of these countries in tournaments past.

We'll keep live threads going for the duration of the Euros, so make sure you come early and often- if you're out there lurking and haven't jumped in for whatever reason, feel free to join in now!