clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Newcastle United v Aston Villa, Premier League: How to watch, stream; team news

New, comments

Newcastle and Aston Villa take the pitch at St. James' Park for a match which is important to both sides.

Michael Regan/Getty Images

Newcastle United will be looking to continue their first winning streak of the Steve McClaren era when Aston Villa take the pitch at St. James' Park.  Both clubs have struggled this season but the victories over Liverpool and Spurs have seen Newcastle put some space between themselves and the club who are "propping up the table" as they say.  He is what we wrote in our preview as the bottom line of this one:

If Newcastle come out with fire and take the match to Villa – even if it doesn't pay off in goals initially – Newcastle could run out winners as they should do.  If we sit back and let Remi Garde's men time and possession and let them gain confidence and "grow into the match", it could be a frustrating time for the home fans.  Depending on just how comfortable we let them get, there is real potential for the pendulum which was swinging towards the positive side of the spectrum to swing back severely to the negative side.  There is plenty riding on this match for everyone involved.

Here's hoping for a good match and another result from the lads today!

LINEUPS


MATCH INFORMATION

Date & Time: December 19, 2015 1730 GMT (0930 PST, 1230 EST)

Venue:  St. James' Park, Newcastle upon Tyne

Players to watch: Moussa Sissoko, Gini Wijnaldum, Vurnon Anita, Jack Colback

TV Information: SkySports 1 (UK), NBC (USA)

Stream InformationNBC Sports Live Extra (USA), Sportsnet World Now (Canada), Other countries and llinks can be found here.