clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Newcastle United v Manchester City: How to watch, Rosters, Live Discussion

New, comments

This may go poorly, and it's hard to stomach that when you're this close to relegation.... come by and hug it out.

Stu Forster/Getty Images

With Newcastle's 3-0 win over Swansea City came hope.  Hope that somehow, against the odds, Newcastle United would be able to pull off their own version of "the great escape" for which their neighbors and rivals have become famous in recent years.  Today's match against Manchester City will inform how positively we can view this potential Escape.

This match was rescheduled thanks to a Manchester City match in the FA Cup (I think... don't @ me) and stands for Newcastle United as one of those fun "games in hand" on Norwich City and They Of The Pink Seats.  If Newcastle lose today, there is no real harm (aside from, you know, not picking up points from a game in hand).  The performance is everything.  United have not beaten Manchester City in the league since early in the 2005-06 season and boast only one win (in the League Cup) and two draws in the intervening 20 matches between the two clubs.  The performance is everything.

Although the match against Swansea City was not faultless, it was encouraging.  The players finally showed that they may actually be up for the fight.  Whether it be too late is another question.  Today's match could go a long way in determining whether or not it is.

LINEUPS


MATCH INFORMATION

Date & Time: April 19 2016 1945 BST (1145 PST, 1445 EST)

Venue:  St. James' Park, Newcastle upon Tyne

Players to watch: Jamaal Lascelles, Andros Townsend, Moussa Sissoko

TV Information:  NBCSN (USA), Sky Sports 1/HD (UK)

Stream InformationNBC Sports Live Extra (USA), TSN 2 (Canada), Other countries and links can be found here.