clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Newcastle United Release Retained Players List

Vurnon Anita and Sammy Ameobi will be departing, while the club will work to negotiate a deal to keep Yoan Gouffran

Newcastle United has published its list of retained players following the 2016-17 season, and in doing so have confirmed that Vurnon Anita, Sammy Ameobi, Lubo Satka and Haris Vuckic will be leaving Newcastle this summer as their contracts expire. Additionally, Newcastle has confirmed that Florian Thauvin’s move to Marseille has been made permanent. United has also opened discussions with Yoan Gouffran’s representatives to extend his stay in the North East.

Anita, 28, moved Tyneside in 2012 from Ajax and has spent the past five years with Newcastle United, making 133 league appearances as a holding midfielder, right back and right winger, scoring three goals and chipping in six assists. As this past season progressed, however, it became evident that DeAndre Yedlin was the preferred right back, leaving little room for Big Vurn on the senior squad.

Manager Rafa Benitez offered his praise of Anita’s time at the club, saying that he “has served Newcastle United magnificently over the last five years.

“Vurnon is an outstanding team-player, always working for the team and willing to step into whatever position he was needed to fill. He is an excellent professional and I thank him for every contribution he has made over the years, particularly in my time as manager.”

Gouffran and Anita celebrate winning the SkyBet Championship

Sammy Ameobi, 25, came through the Newcastle academy while his brother Shola played for the first team, making his debut in the 2010-2011 return to the Premier League. Ameobi would play in 54 league matches on both wings while at Newcastle, scoring two goals and adding three assists, while also spending time on loan at Middlesbrough, Cardiff City and Bolton.

It was also announced that U23 players Jamie Holmes, Stefan Broccoli and Ben Smith, along with Academy players Gideon Adu-Peprah and Daniel Lowther, would not be returning to Newcastle next season.

Elsewhere in the Premier League, released players of note include Arsenal’s Yaya Sanogo; Burnley’s Joey Barton; Chelsea’s John Terry; Crystal Palace’s Fraizer Campbell, Mathieu Flamini and Joe Ledley; Everton’s Arouna Koné, Manchester City’s Willy Caballero, Gaël Clichy, Jesús Navas, Bacary Sagna and Pablo Zabaleta; Manchester United’s Zlatan Ibrahimović; Stoke City’s Shay Given; Sunderland’s Victor Anichebe, Jan Kirchhoff, Sebastian Larsson and Joleon Lescott; and West Bromwich Albion’s Darren Fletcher and Sébastien Pocognoli.