clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Joelinton named Newcastle Player of the Season!

He’s Brazilian. He only cost 40 million. And we think he’s fooking brilliant.

Joelinton Newcastle United Foundation Building Photo by Serena Taylor/Newcastle United via Getty Images

Bruno might have been the target of very dubious opinions, but he’s already snatched this season’s Newcastle United Player of the Year award. That’s one thing I have definitely not won, and you probably haven’t either. Maybe, just maybe, it’s time to acknowledge this man’s talents? Maybe.

If you have been living under a rock, this is Joelinton for you this season in terms of games played, time missed, and SofaScore rating.

It’s absolutely insane to think Joelinton’s best ratings came in the November-February span of games considering he’s been an absolute destroyer of opponents’ souls during the past few games—of course, including the masterclass completed against Arsenal on MNF.

In case you have forgotten, Joelinton arrived as someone labeled a “striker”, only, you know, he’s developed into a do-it-all man-for-all-season type of guy.

As you can see, the lad did it all playing all across the pitch from defending midfield positions to attacking ones while also manning both flanks for the Magpies here and there. The left-flank proneness is inevitable, but so are this Brazilian’s magnetic vibes.

After being presented with the award, the Brazilian had something delightful to say.

“I’m delighted and very happy to win this award.”

“Thank you to the fans, the players and the staff for helping me, and all my family and friends. Thank you.

“It has been a great season for me. Many things have happened, but I’m very happy to help the team and help the team stay in the Premier League.”

“Hopefully next season will be even better.”

Here is the list of previous NUFC Player of the Year winners. Howay all of these Lads!

  • 1975/76 Alan Gowling
  • 1976/77 Micky Burns
  • 1977/78 Irving Nattrass
  • 1978/79 Peter Withe
  • 1979/80 Alan Shoulder
  • 1980/81 Kevin Carr
  • 1981/82 Mick Martin
  • 1982/83 Kevin Keegan
  • 1983/84 Kevin Keegan
  • 1984/85 Peter Beardsley
  • 1985/86 Peter Beardsley
  • 1986/87 Paul Goddard
  • 1987/88 Paul Gascoigne
  • 1988/89 John Hendrie
  • 1989/90 Mick Quinn
  • 1990/91 John Burridge
  • 1991/92 Gavin Peacock
  • 1992/93 Lee Clark
  • 1993/94 Andy Cole
  • 1994/95 Barry Venison
  • 1995/96 Darren Peacock
  • 1996/97 Steve Watson
  • 1997/98 David Batty
  • 1998/99 Alan Shearer
  • 1999/00 Alan Shearer
  • 2000/01 Shay Given
  • 2001/02 Nobby Solano
  • 2002/03 Alan Shearer
  • 2003/04 Olivier Bernard
  • 2004/05 Shay Given
  • 2005/06 Shay Given
  • 2006/07 Nicky Butt
  • 2007/08 Habib Beye
  • 2008/09 Sébastien Bassong
  • 2009/10 José Enrique
  • 2010/11 Fabricio Coloccini
  • 2011/12 Tim Krul
  • 2012/13 Davide Santon
  • 2013/14 Mike Williamson
  • 2014/15 Daryl Janmaat
  • 2015/16 Rob Elliot
  • 2016/17 Ciaran Clark
  • 2017/18 Jamaal Lascelles
  • 2018/19 Salomón Rondón
  • 2019/20 Martin Dúbravka
  • 2020/21 Callum Wilson
  • 2021/22 Joelinton